7th edition of Magritte

Triumph for Bouli Lanners at the Magritte 2017

“Les Premiers, les Derniers” have won 5 prizes.
Virginie Efira and Astrid Whettnall were crowned best actresses

Every year, many countries celebrate their cinema during a ceremony that rewards the most talented. Like the traditional César or the legendary Oscar, Charly Herscovici decided to create the Magritte Foundation to allow us to use the awareness of the greatest Belgian artists to label the ceremony.

"Les Magritte du Cinéma" has now become a prestigious label

Best film, best first film, best director, best Flemish film, best actress/actor, best female/male hope, ... In short, over 22 awards and a Honor Magritte are given by the André Delvaux Academy during this Ceremony Year. Beyond self-congratulation between professionals, the aim is to put forward all those who ensure the reputation of our country abroad but which are still too often unknown to the general public.

Odoo text and image block
Odoo image and text block

Broadcast live on Be TV, the ceremony was presented by the actress Virginie Effira having for ceremonial mistress Anne-Pascale Clairembourg. Among the favourites, this edition has rewarded Xavier Seron for his film "Je me tue à le dire" and Joachim Lafosse for "L’économie du couple".

Complete list of rewards

Best movie

Les Premiers les Derniers de Bouli Lanners

Best actresses 

Astrid Whettnall pour La Route d’Istanbul ex-­aequo
avec Virginie Efira pour Victoria

Best actor 

Jean-­Jacques Rausin pour Je me tue à le dire

Best producer

Bouli Lanners pour Les Premiers les Derniers

Most inspirational female

Salomé Richard pour Baden Baden

Most inspirational male

Yoann Blanc dans Un homme à la mer

Best supporting actress

Catherine Salée pour Keeper

Best supporting actor

David Murgia dans Les Premiers les Derniers

Best original screenplay

Je me tue à le dire de Xavier Seron

Best moving picture

Olivier Boonjing pour Parasol

Magritte of Honor

André Dussollier

Best costume

Elise Ancion pour Les premiers les derniers

Best decor

Elise Ancion pour Les premiers les derniers

Best Editing 

Julie Brenta pour Keeper 

Best first film

Keeper de Guillaume Senez 

Best documentary 

En bataille d’Eve Duchemin

Best short film of fiction

Le Plombier de Fortunat-­Rossi et Xavier Seron

Best flemish movie

Belgica de Felix van Groeningen

best foreigh movie

La Tortue Rouge de Michael Dudok de Wit

Best Sound

Mathieu Michaux pour La Tortue Rouge

Best short film of animation

Pornography d’Eric Ledune

Best original song

Cyrille de Haes et Manuel Roland pour Parasol